Reserve Bank of India Announces Auction of Two Government Securities Worth 36,000 Crore Rupees
The Government of India and the Reserve Bank of India announced an auction to sell two re-issued dated government securities totaling ₹36,000 crore on November 06, 2026. The auction includes ₹23,000 crore of the 7.06% GS 2041 maturing in July 2041 and ₹13,000 crore of the 7.43% GS 2076 maturing in January 2076. The government also holds an option to retain up to an extra ₹2,000 crore for each security. Individual retail investors can participate in this sale through the Reserve Bank of India Retail Direct portal under a non-competitive bidding scheme. Up to 5% of the total sale amount is reserved for non-competitive bidders, with minimum bids set at ₹10,000. For ordinary citizens, government securities provide a formal way to lend money directly to the national government in exchange for regular interest payments over fixed terms. Successful bidders will complete their payments on November 09, 2026.
What was announced
The Reserve Bank of India published details for the re-issue of two Central Government dated securities worth ₹36,000 crore. The first security is the 7.06% GS 2041, set to mature on July 27, 2041, with a notified amount of ₹23,000 crore. The second security is the 7.43% GS 2076, scheduled for repayment on January 19, 2076, with a notified amount of ₹13,000 crore. Both sales carry an additional option allowing the government to retain up to ₹2,000 crore more per security.
Bidding takes place on Friday, November 06, 2026, through the central bank's electronic e-Kuber system. Non-competitive bids open from 10:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m., while competitive bids close at 11:30 a.m. The central bank will select successful bids using a price-based, multiple price method, and settlement will occur on Monday, November 09, 2026. Primary Dealers may also submit underwriting bids between 09:00 a.m. and 09:30 a.m. on the auction date.
What it means
Government securities are long-term debt instruments that the central government issues to borrow funds from the public and institutional investors. When investors buy these securities, they receive periodic interest payments, which the press release notes are generally paid half-yearly.
Retail investors can buy into these offerings without competing directly against large financial institutions on yield quotes. Under the non-competitive bidding facility, eligible individuals can submit bids through the RBI Retail Direct portal for up to 5% of the notified sum. The minimum bid amount is ₹10,000, with further increments allowed in multiples of ₹10,000. Non-competitive allotments are calculated at the weighted average yield or price of successful competitive bids.
What the announcement does not tell us
The Reserve Bank of India release does not state how the government intends to spend the borrowed ₹36,000 crore. It also leaves out specific coupon payment dates beyond stating that interest is generally paid half-yearly. Furthermore, the notice does not disclose what prevailing market yields or expected cut-off prices will be for either security.
How this was written
This analysis was written with AI from the official announcement below, using only facts that announcement states. The quoted wording is Reserve Bank of India Press Releases’s own. Always check the original before acting on anything here.
Government of India (GoI) has announced the sale (re-issue) of two dated securities for a notified amount of ₹36,000 crore as per the following details: Sr No Security Date of Repayment Notified Amount (₹ Crore) GoI specific Notification Auction Date Settlement Date 1 7.06% GS 2041 Jul 27, 2041 23,000 F.No.4(1)-B(W&M)/2026 dated November 02, 2026 November 06, 2026 (Friday) November 09, 2026 (Monday) 2 7.43% GS 2076 Jan 19, 2076 13,000 Total 36,000 2. GoI will have the option to retain additional subscription up to ₹2,000 crore against each security mentioned above. 3. The securities will be so
Opens www.rbi.org.in
More from Reserve Bank of India Press Releases
- RBI to conduct 4-day Variable Rate Repo (VRR) auction under LAF on November 09, 20266 November 2026
- Auction of 91-Day, 182-Day and 364-Day Treasury Bills6 November 2026
- Census on Foreign Liabilities and Assets of Indian Direct Investment Entities for 2025-266 November 2026
- Sectoral Deployment of Credit by NBFC – September 20266 November 2026
- Reserve Bank of India – Bulletin Weekly Statistical Supplement – Extract6 November 2026
This content is for informational purposes only and is not financial, investment, tax, or legal advice. Rates, fees, and terms change and may differ from what is shown here; verify current details with the provider before acting. Consider consulting a qualified financial professional about your specific situation.