FirsthandTech

Best Laptops of 2026

Fact-checked by Firsthand Editorial Team
Last updated:

Quick answer

For most people the Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5) is our top pick: an M5 chip, 16GB of memory, 512GB of storage, Apple-claimed battery life of up to 18 hours of video, and the lowest price here at $1,299 (as of 2026-10-02). The Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (8th Edition) is the best Windows value while it is on sale at $1,399.99 (list $1,599.99), with Microsoft-claimed battery life of up to 20 hours of video. The Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 14 Aura Edition is the lightest (from 2.15 lbs) and has a MIL-STD-810H test record, but starts at $2,534. The Dell XPS 14 (2026) has the biggest battery (70Whr) and Dell claims up to 27 hours of general use, but it starts at $2,149.99 and the product page does not state the warranty length. Firsthand does not conduct lab testing; ratings come from official specifications, prices and warranty terms.

This guide compares four current premium laptops for 2026: the Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5), the Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (8th Edition), the Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 14 Aura Edition, and the Dell XPS 14 (2026). Every price comes from the maker's own US store and is accurate as of 2026-10-02; laptop prices have moved a lot in 2026, so check before you buy. Specs, battery claims and warranty terms come from each maker's official spec sheets, launch pages and warranty documents. Honesty note: Firsthand does not run a hardware lab. We do not benchmark processors or run battery tests. Battery figures are the maker's own claims and are labelled that way. We score each laptop on Performance (30%), Value (25%), Reliability (20%), Ease of Use (15%), and Support (10%), and none of these laptops is monetized.

How we scored: every product below was rated 0–10 on five weighted criteria — Performance (30%), Value (25%), Reliability & Security (20%), Ease of Use (15%), and Support (10%). Firsthand does not run a lab: ratings analyze manufacturer-published specifications and official documentation, not independent benchmarks, and each figure is cited to a primary source with an as-of date. Affiliate commissions never affect scores or rank order. Read our full methodology.

2026 rankings at a glance

#ProductRatingBest forPriceActions
1Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5)Not an affiliate — no commission earned7.5/10People who want a light, quiet everyday laptop with long rated battery life, especially if they already use an iPhone.From $1,299 for the 13-inch model; 15-inch from $1,499 (as of 2026-10-02)
2Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (8th Edition)Not an affiliate — no commission earned7.3/10Windows users who want long rated battery life and a high-refresh touchscreen at a lower price than most premium Windows ultrabooks.$1,399.99 on sale (list $1,599.99) for Snapdragon X2 Plus, 16GB, 512GB; Snapdragon X2 Elite from $1,526.23 (as of 2026-10-02)
3Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 14 Aura EditionNot an affiliate — no commission earned7.2/10Business users and frequent travellers who put low weight, a durability test record and a business-class support offer ahead of price.From $2,534 (Core Ultra 5 335, 32GB, 256GB, WUXGA touch) (as of 2026-10-02)
4Dell XPS 14 (2026)Not an affiliate — no commission earned6.7/10Windows buyers who want the longest maker-claimed battery life in a premium 14-inch laptop and do not mind about 3 pounds.From $2,149.99 (Core Ultra 5 325, 16GB, 512GB, 1920 x 1200 display) (as of 2026-10-02)
1.

Apple MacBook Air 13-inch (M5)

7.5/10

The MacBook Air with M5 pairs Apple's newest base chip with 16GB of memory, 512GB of storage and Apple-claimed battery life of up to 18 hours of video. It is the lightest and most affordable laptop in this group, though its price has risen since launch.

  • Apple M5 chip with a 10-core CPU and 8-core or 10-core GPU, per Apple's official tech specs
  • The 13-inch model now starts at $1,299 on Apple's store (as of 2026-10-02), up from the $1,099 launch price Apple announced in March 2026

Read full review →

2.

Microsoft Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (8th Edition)

7.3/10

The 13.8-inch Surface Laptop (8th Edition) uses Qualcomm's Snapdragon X2 chips, a 120Hz touchscreen and Microsoft-claimed battery life of up to 20 hours of video. It is good value while on sale, but buyers should confirm their apps run on Windows on Arm.

  • Snapdragon X2 Plus (10-core) or X2 Elite (12-core) processors, per Microsoft's official product page
  • The display is LCD, not OLED, per Microsoft's specs, while the Lenovo and Dell models in this guide offer OLED options

Read full review →

3.

Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 14 Aura Edition

7.2/10

The ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 14 Aura Edition is the lightest laptop here at about 2.15 pounds and has a MIL-STD-810H test record, but at $2,534 for 256GB of storage it is the weakest value.

  • Starting weight of 0.977 kg (2.15 lbs), the lightest laptop in this guide, per Lenovo's PSREF spec sheet
  • The most expensive laptop here: $2,534 for a configuration with only 256GB of storage on Lenovo's US store (as of 2026-10-02)

Read full review →

4.

Dell XPS 14 (2026)

6.7/10

The 2026 XPS 14 has a 70Whr battery and Dell-claimed battery life of up to 27 hours of general use. It is let down by a price above Dell's own launch promise and unclear warranty terms on the product page.

  • Dell claims up to 27 hours of general use and more than 40 hours of local video playback (at 150 nits), per Dell's launch blog
  • At 3.00 to 3.05 pounds it is the heaviest laptop in this guide, per Dell's specs

Read full review →

Frequently asked questions

Which laptop is best in 2026?

For most people we rank the MacBook Air 13-inch (M5) first on price, weight and rated battery life. Windows users should look at the Surface Laptop 13.8-inch (8th Edition), frequent travellers at the ThinkPad X1 Carbon Gen 14 Aura Edition, and buyers chasing the longest maker-claimed battery life at the Dell XPS 14 (2026). Prices are from each maker's US store as of 2026-10-02.

Do you test these laptops yourselves?

No. Firsthand does not run a hardware lab and does not benchmark or battery-test laptops. Every figure is taken from the maker's official spec sheet, store page, launch announcement or warranty document, and battery figures are labelled as the maker's claims.

Which laptop has the longest battery life?

On makers' claims, the Dell XPS 14 (2026) is highest at up to 27 hours of general use (Dell) and its 70Whr battery is the largest here. Microsoft claims up to 20 hours of video for the Surface Laptop 13.8-inch, Lenovo rates the X1 Carbon at up to 19.2 hours on MobileMark 30, and Apple claims up to 18 hours of video for the MacBook Air. These use different tests, so they are not directly comparable.

Which has the best warranty?

Apple and Microsoft both state a one-year limited hardware warranty, and the Microsoft Store adds 60-day free returns. Lenovo's ThinkPad base warranty ranges from one to three years depending on model. Dell's product page does not state the warranty length; Dell's terms say it appears on your invoice.

Get evidence-based tech picks in your inbox — no hype.

Join The Firsthand Tech Brief for a weekly, research-first read.

We never sell your email. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.