FirsthandTech

Motorola Edge 2026 Review 2026: Buyers who want a durable, well-specified phone for about $600 and do not plan to keep it for many years.

Fact-checked by Firsthand Editorial Team
Last updated:

Firsthand does not earn a commission from this product. We include it because rankings limited to affiliate partners can't be trusted.

Our verdict

The Motorola Edge 2026 is the value pick. Motorola's US store lists it at $599.99 unlocked with 128 GB (as of 2026-10-02). Motorola's product page lists a 6.3-inch display with a 120Hz refresh rate and up to 5200 nits peak brightness, a MediaTek Dimensity 7450 with up to 8 GB of RAM, a 5000mAh battery with 60W wired and 15W wireless charging, three 50MP cameras, IP68 and IP69 ratings, and Corning Gorilla Glass 7i. Brightness and charging figures are Motorola's own claims. The reasons it ranks last: Motorola guarantees two Android OS upgrades and does not state a number of years of security updates on the product page, storage tops out at 128 GB on the US store page, and the chip is a mid-range part. Firsthand does not test phones; this rating comes from Motorola's published product information.

Overall score

Score breakdown

  • Performance (30%)6.0/10
  • Value (25%)8.0/10
  • Reliability (20%)8.0/10
  • Ease of Use (15%)8.0/10
  • Support (10%)5.0/10

Scored per our review methodology.

Who it's for

Best for: Buyers who want a durable, well-specified phone for about $600 and do not plan to keep it for many years..

Pricing

$599.99 unlocked (128 GB) on Motorola's US store (as of 2026-10-02)

PlanPriceNotes
Motorola Edge 2026 (128 GB, unlocked)$599.99 (as of 2026-10-02)Motorola US store; a free moto watch and moto buds loop promotion was running on the same date.

What the evidence says

  • Motorola Edge 2026: $599.99 unlocked, 128 GB, MediaTek Dimensity 7450 with up to 8 GB RAM, 6.3-inch 120Hz display up to 5200 nits, 5000mAh battery, 60W wired and 15W wireless charging, IP68 and IP69, Gorilla Glass 7i, two guaranteed Android OS upgrades (as of 2026-10-02). (Motorola US, motorola edge 2026 product page (official))
  • Motorola Edge 2026 is listed for sale on Motorola's US smartphone store at $599.99 (as of 2026-10-02). (Motorola US, shop smartphones (official))

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Lowest price in this guide at $599.99, about $300 less than the Pixel 11, per Motorola's US store (as of 2026-10-02)
  • IP68 and IP69 ratings plus Corning Gorilla Glass 7i, per Motorola
  • 5000mAh battery with 60W TurboPower wired and 15W wireless charging, per Motorola
  • 6.3-inch display with a 120Hz refresh rate and up to 5200 nits peak brightness, per Motorola's product page

Cons & red flags

  • Motorola guarantees only two Android OS upgrades, and its product page does not state how many years of security updates it gets
  • The MediaTek Dimensity 7450 is a mid-range chip, and RAM is up to 8 GB, per Motorola, below the flagship chips in the other phones here
  • Only a 128 GB storage option is offered on Motorola's US store page, half the 256 GB entry storage of the other three phones
  • Motorola's product page does not state the base warranty length, only that its moto care add-on extends the warranty by 1 year

How it compares

Motorola Edge 2026 scores 7.1/10 in our smartphones evaluation. See where it lands in the full ranking: Best Smartphones of 2026.

  • Google Pixel 11 review — 8.2/10, android buyers who want to keep one phone for many years and value a long written update promise.
  • Apple iPhone 17 review — 7.9/10, iphone users who want a current-generation phone with a 120hz display without paying pro prices.

Frequently asked questions

How many updates will the Motorola Edge 2026 get?

Motorola's product page promises two guaranteed Android OS upgrades. It does not state how many years of security updates the phone will receive (as of 2026-10-02).

Is the Motorola Edge 2026 waterproof?

Motorola lists IP68 and IP69 ratings for protection against water, dust, dirt, and sand. Water resistance can decrease with wear, so treat it as protection, not a guarantee.

How much storage does it have?

Motorola's US store page offers it with 128 GB of storage at $599.99 (as of 2026-10-02).

Get evidence-based tech picks in your inbox — no hype.

Join The Firsthand Tech Brief for a weekly, research-first read.

We never sell your email. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.